Holiday and Long Term Rentals all over Cyprus

Cyprus Schools

The Cyprus Schools and Education System in the Republic of Cyprus has four stages: pre-primary, primary, secondary and higher/tertiary. Nine years of education are compulsory (and free at state schools): education is compulsory from Primary School (age 6) to the end of the third year of Secondary School (age 15)

Pre-primary education
The Ministry of Education and Culture has approval of all nursery schools (or kindergartens) operating on the island, whether a state-run public school or a private nursery school. The Ministry of Education and Culture also determines the curriculum to be followed. There are 3 categories of nursery school:

Public nursery schools operate under the authority of the Ministry of Education and Culture, working in collaboration with parents' associations and community authorities. All teachers are qualified, while the teachers' aids must have completed secondary schooling.
Communal nursery schools are run by parents' associations or community authorities and are registered by the Ministry of Education and Culture.
Private nursery schools are privately established and owned however they are all approved by Ministry of Education and Culture and operate according to the Private Schools' Law, 1971, of the Republic of Cyprus.

Primary education is compulsory in Cyprus, and free at state schools administered by the Government. Education at private schools is not free and fees vary from school to school .The Primary education is a six-year period. Children may enter the Primary School system from the age of 5 years and 8 months.

Any town or village with more than 15 children of school going age will have a primary school (children from villages with fewer than 15 will be accepted in the regional school for a neighbouring community).

In the smaller village schools where the entire pupil population may be as little as 39, pupils will be in multi-grade classes of mixed ages and levels. (One-teacher schools are for a maximum of 19 pupils; two-teacher schools for a pupil population up to 39)
In the urban areas and larger schools, where each class is single-grade, the six-year primary school period is broken into:

Cycle A: Grades 1 to 3 (for ages 6 to 8 years)
Cycle B: Grades 4 to 6 (for ages 9 to 11 years)
When primary school is completed a child will receive a leaving certificate.

There are no completion examinations and readiness to proceed to Secondary school is assessed by on-going evaluations throughout the learning period. A child cannot continue on to Secondary school without a leaving certificate.

The Cyprus school day ends at lunchtime.

The All-day school system was introduced at an experimental level in 1999 to extend the day for homework and optional subjects including Foreign Languages, Information Technology, Music and Art. The system continues to expand to schools across the island. All-day schools operate on a voluntary basis for grades 4 to 6 and attendance is optional. They operate four afternoons per week until 16:00 from October to May. (Some schools have introduced All-day school for grades 1 to 3 staying open until 13:05.)

Lettings Cyprus have rental properties available for rent near all the major schools, please contact us for availability.